top of page


About Aaron Neinstein, MD

Dr. Aaron Neinstein is Vice President of Digital Health at UCSF Health, Senior Director at the UCSF Center for Digital Health Innovation, and Associate Professor in the UCSF Division of Endocrinology, with a clinical practice focused on diabetes care. He is considered an expert in diabetes technology, including the use of insulin pumps and continuous glucose monitors, as a nationally-invited speaker and invited author to outlets like CNBC and Medscape, peer-reviewed author, and advisor to numerous companies. He has been named by Marin Magazine to the Bay Area [415] Top Doctors List and has won the UCSF School of Medicine Excellence in Teaching Award. In his clinical practice, he takes care of patients with diabetes as well as with disorders of the thyroid, adrenal, pituitary, ovaries, and testes, or other metabolic issues. (Note: If you are looking for a second opinion for an endocrine issue and are unable to come to UCSF, Dr. Neinstein can provide you a second opinion via UCSF’s online second opinion service.)

Aaron Neinstein_Portrait.JPG

Dr. Neinstein is board certified in Endocrinology, Internal Medicine, and Clinical Informatics.  He was an inaugural inductee as a Fellow of the American Medical Informatics Association, and has focused his career on empowering patients and physicians to better access, share, understand, and use health information for more connected, collaborative care. His digital health resume spans leading UCSF’s ambulatory Epic EHR implementation, development and deployment of numerous digital health solutions transforming digital patient experience and virtual care delivery across UCSF, research and advocacy advancing US federal health policy in interoperability and patient data access, and co-founding of Tidepool, a non-profit creating open-source software to empower people with diabetes. At the UCSF CDHI, he leads a multi-disciplinary team focused on digital transformation of care delivery, including the use of telehealth and remote monitoring technologies to advance more connected care.



Research Grants

  • Pfizer (2021)

  • Eli Lilly (2021)

  • Royal Philips (2020-2022)

  • Cisco Systems Inc (2016- )

  • Commonwealth Fund (2018-2019)

Speaking Honoraria

  • The Doctors Company (2022)

  • Kaiser Permanente (2022)


  • WebMD/Medscape

  • American Diabetes Association

  • Academy Health (2018)

  • Symposia Medicus (2017)


  • Greenberg Traurig LLP

  • Maslon LLP

  • Elite Medical Experts

Federal Appointments

  • US Health Information Technology Advisory Committee (HITAC) (2022-2024)

Consultant / Advisory Board (With Compensation)

  • Sanofi (2021)

  • Intuity Medical (2020-present)

  • Medtronic (2020-present)

  • Roche (2020-present)

  • Eli Lilly (2020-present)

  • Steady Health (2018-2021, acq. by Carbon Health)

  • HealthQuest Capital (2018)

  • Nokia Growth Partners (2017-2018)

  • WebMD/Medscape (2015-2019)

  • Grand Rounds (2014)

  • GLG (2014-present)

Consultant / Advisory Board (Without Compensation)

  • Philips (2021-present)

  • Tidepool (2012-present)

bottom of page